top of page

The Bleaching of the Coral Reef and the Jellyfish Invasion

I painted this after the recent trip to the aquarium. I was fascinated with the mysterious nature of the moon jellyfish. Later I learned that their numbers multiply and bloom because of the rise in oceanic temperature. Though they are beautiful, they can sting and hurt other creatures.

Global warming also has threaten the health and well-being of the coral reef. They turned white when they died. The water temperature changes has threaten their existence. Many of the creatures really depend on the coral to live. The dead fish’s remains is painted on left hand corner to illustrate this. These threat really tip the balance of the ecosystem.

I used acrylic as my preferred medium for its versatility and my own health. I have autism a neurological condition, which is why I am being careful in choosing my paint. I used the flow improver to create the dripping paint effect. I use different paint colors, dark to light and different blue tones to achieve the light. I used my own photos from the aquarium trip as references. The art is to illustrate that the coral bleaching has spread and will continue to spread. Unless, we do something.

16"x20" acrylic on paper

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page